National Human Services Assembly

Key Leadership

Meet our Board of Directors

Darlyne Bailey, Ph.D., Professor and Dean Emeritus, Graduate School of Social Work and Social Research, Bryn Mawr College (Vice Chair)

Peter V. Berns, CEO, The Arc of the United States

Susan Danish, Former Executive Director of Association of Junior Leagues International (Immediate Past Chair)

Jeff Fleischer, President & CEO, Youth Advocate Programs, Inc. (Chair)

Jennifer Hawkins, Corporate Secretary and Chief of Staff, American Red Cross

Denise Harlow, Chief Executive Officer, Community Action Partnership

Melanie Lockwood Herman, Executive Director, Nonprofit Risk Management Center

Monisha Kapila, Founder and CEO, ProInspire (Equity Committee Co-Chair)

Frances Kunreuther, Co-Director, Building Movement Project

Brian J. G. Lachance, Esq., Chief of Staff, United Way Worldwide (Vice Chair)

Lupi Quinteros-Grady, President & CEO, Latin American Youth Center

Susan Tomlinson Schmidt, President, Nonprofit Leadership Alliance (Secretary & Equity Committee Co-Chair)

Mala B. Thakur, Senior Program Director, MDC (Treasurer)

NHSA Staff Leadership

Victor Valentine, Executive Director,

Melissa Reifler, Director of Learning and Member Engagement,

Ruth Sigei, Managing Director of PurchasingPoint,

Michelle Stewart, Director of Marketing,


For other questions, visit Contact Us or call us at (202) 347-2080.

Interested in Advocacy?

Are you a public policy professional in or around the DC area? Learn more about the National Assembly's public policy efforts, the Washington Policy Council, and getting involved in advocacy for the human service sector.

Become a Member

Are you interested in becoming part of the only network of national nonprofit human service organizations to be a part of the collective voice of the sector? Find out more about membership with the National Assembly and all of the benefits that come with.